BKG: Top 5 Verses from Jay-Z’s “Reasonable Doubt”

This album was the Genesis for the Hip Hop icon that we all know today. And those who know me know that I think Jay-Z is best hands down. So I figured that I would go back to the beginning of it all and share with you guys my top 5 verses from “Reasonable Doubt”

5. Cashmere Thoughts

This song is crazy! No hook just Jay doing his thing straight thru, the way he rides the beat and witty punchlines is why this is why my number 5 pick.

Uhh, I talk jewels and spit diamonds, all cherry
like a hymen, when I’m rhymin with remarkable timin
Caviar and silk dreams, my voice is linen
Spittin venom up in the, minds of young women
Mink thoughts to think thoughts type similar
Might you remember, my shit is col-l-l-ld like December
Smoother than Persian rugs, the cashmere
chromosomes make a nigga Jigga Jay-Z lethal drugs
Eighteen carat gold pen, when it hits the sheets
Words worth a million like I’m rappin em through platinum teeth
I got the Grey Poupon, you been warned
Cause all beef return well done filet mignon

4. 22 Two’s

The concept of this track is dope, it has a raw street feel to it and I feel like it’s Jay showing how versatile he is lyrically. This is jus one of the many classics on this album.

Too much West coast dick-lickin, and too many niggaz on a mission
Doin your best Jay-Z rendition
Too many rough motherfuckers, I got my suspicions
that you’re just a fish in a pool of sharks nigga, listen
Too many bitches wanna be ladies, so if you a hoe
I’ma call you a hoe, too many bitches are shady
Too many ladies give these niggaz too many chances
Too many brothers wannabe lovers don’t know what romance is
Too many bitches stuck up from too many sexual advances
No question; Jay-Z got too many answers
I been around this block, too many times
Rocked, too many rhymes, cocked, too many nines, too
To all my brothers it ain’t too late to come together
Cause too much black and too much love, equal forever
I don’t follow any guidelines cause too many niggaz ride mine
so I change styles every two rhymes, hah, what the fuck
That’s 22 too’s for y’all motherfuckers out there, yaknahmean?
Shall I continue? Check it out, what?

3. Dead Presidents (Verse 2)

I know what your thinking, Dead Presidents at #3!?!?!? Yes this is a Hip Hop classic but only pulling in 3rd place on my list. The 2nd verse in this song is bananas, Jay is painting this picture of a glamourous gangsta at his peak and only getting better. Even more proof as to why Jay is the GOAT!

Geyeah, know what? I’ll make..
you and your wack mans fold like bad hands
Roll like Monopoly, ad-vance you copy me
like white crystals, I gross the most
at the end of the fiscal year than these niggaz can wish to
The dead presidential, canidate
with the sprinkles and the presidental, ice that’ll offend you
In due time when crime fleas my mind
All sneak thieves and playa haters can shine
But until then I keep the trillion cut diamonds shinin brilliant
I’ll tell you half the story, the rest you fill it in
Long as the villian win
I spend Japan yen, attend major events
Catch me in the joints, convinced my iguanas is bitin
J-A-Y hyphen, controllin, manipulatin
I got a good life man, pounds and pence
Nuff dollars make sense, while you ride the bench
Catch me swinging for the fence
Dead Presidents, ya know

2. Can I Live (Verse 2)

This song gives people a look into the conflicted mind of a drug dealer, Jay starts off by saying how there are two sides to the game and how the hustler becomes addicted to the life just as much as the addicts. This verse never gets old and in my opinion was way ahead of it’s time.

My mind is infested, with sick thoughts that circle
like a Lexus, if driven wrong it’s sure to hurt you
Dual level like duplexes, in unity, my crew and me
commit atrocities like we got immunity
You guessed it, manifest it in tangible goods
Platinum Rolexed it, we don’t lease
we buy the whole care, as you should
My confederation, dead a nation, EXPLODE
on detonation, overload the mind of a said patient
When it balls to steam, it comes to it
we all fiends gotta do it, even righteous minds go through this
True this, history school us to spend our money foolish
Bond with jewellers and, watch for intruders
I stepped it up another level, meditated like a buddhist
Recruited lieutenants with ludicrous, dreams of
gettin cream let’s do this, it gets tedious
So I keep one eye open like, C-B-S, ya see me
stressed right? Can I live?

1. D’Evils (Verse 2)

And #1 is D’Evils! This is not only my favorite song on the album but it’s one of my favorite songs of all time. Of course now it’s been thrown in with all the Illuminati theories that have consumed the culture as of late but verse 2 has it all, street savvy word play along with spot on delivery makes this my number 1 verse from “Reasonable Doubt”

We used to fight for building blocks
Now we fight for blocks with buildings that make a killing
The closest of friends when we first started
But grew apart as the money grew, and soon grew black-hearted
Thinking back when we first learned to use rubbers
He never learned so in turn I’m kidnapping his baby’s mother
My hand around her collar, feeding her cheese
She said the taste of dollars was shitty so I fed her fifties
About his whereabouts I wasn’t convinced
So I kept feeding her money ’til her shit started to make sense
Who could ever forsee, we used to stay up all night at slumber parties
now I’m trying to rock this bitch to sleep
All the years we were real close
Now I see his fears through her tears, know she’s wishing we were still
close
Don’t cry, it is to be
In time, I’ll take away your miseries and make ’em mine, D’Evils…

Leave a Reply

